City of Sand

Robert Kroese
Praise for City of Sand “Dark, gritty, intense, and mind-boggling.” – Lelia F. “Mind. Blown. Just when you think you have gotten a handle on where the story is going to take you, Kroese drives it right off the rails.” – Dale F. “Equal part detective story and Philp K Dick paranoia trip, the story weaves together elements of a techno thriller and a psychological thriller that left me guessing until the end.” – Brent D. You Can't Go Home Again... He thought he knew this place. He was wrong. Retired police detective Benjamin Stone returns to the city of his childhood to find his missing daughter, Jessica. But the city of Sunnyview seems to have changed in ways Benjamin Stone can't put his finger on--and when Jessica turns up dead in a creek bed, apparently murdered, Benjamin follows clues that suggest a conspiracy involving a startup company and a Silicon Valley pioneer with a disturbing past. As the mystery unravels, Benjamin must confront the reality of terrible crimes that occurred in the idealized town of his youth, which helped to make Silicon Valley what it is today. But as Benjamin attempts to unravel the conspiracy, all the clues begin to point toward a horrifying possibility: Sunnyview isn’t what it seems. A departure from Kroese's usual humorous fare, City in Sand is a mindbending mystery that will keep you turning pages to get to the bottom of the Sunnyview's dark past and its disturbing present. City of Sand is perfect for fans of Philip Dick's Man in the High Castle, Blake Crouch's Pines and Marcus Sakey's Brilliance. Do you dare take a trip to Sunnyview?
Paperback, 400 pages
3 credits
In Stock

Categories: Science Fiction, Fantasy

Series: Other Books

Robert Kroese
Los Angeles of 2039 is a baffling and bifurcated place. After the Collapse of 2…
Hardcover, 306 pages
2 credits
In Stock



Robert Kroese
The year is 2039, and Los Angeles is poised between order and chaos. After the …
Hardcover, 306 pages
2 credits
In Stock



Robert Kroese
Schrodinger''s Gat is a quantum physics noir thriller. Paul Bayes has begun to …
Paperback, 181 pages
3 credits
In Stock



Robert Kroese
Praise for City of Sand “Dark, gritty, intense, and mind-boggling.” – Lelia …
Paperback, 400 pages
3 credits
In Stock



Browse all books